• Abortions may only be performed by physicians licensed by the state of Texas.
• Abortion of a fetus 16 weeks or more is allowed only at a licensed ambulatory surgical center or hospital.
• Abortion of a fetus in the third trimester (over 26 weeks) is prohibited except:
o in cases where the fetus is removed to increase his/her chance for survival,
o to remove a dead fetus, or
o when deemed necessary to prevent the death or substantial risk of serious
impairment of the woman.
• Abortions must be on a voluntary basis. No one can be forced to have an abortion.
If you are considering an abortion in Texas,
this is a summary of your legal rights according to the
Woman’s Right to Know Act
• The woman having the abortion must be informed of:
o the name of the physician performing the abortion,
o the medical risks associated with abortion, including:
risk of infection,
risk of hemorrhage,
potential danger to future pregnancies,
potential danger of future infertility,
possibility of increased risk of breast cancer,
o natural protective effect of completed pregnancy in avoiding breast cancer,
o the probable age of the fetus at time of abortion,
o the medical risks of carrying the child to term,
o medical benefits that may be available for prenatal, childbirth and neonatal health care,
o the father’s liability for support, whether or not he offered to pay for the abortion
o public and private agencies who provide pregnancy prevention counseling and medical assistance
o public and private agencies who offer alternatives to abortion.
• The woman having the abortion has the right to review printed information provided by the Texas Department of Health.
o The physician must provide a printed copy at least 24 hours before the abortion is scheduled.
o The physician can mail the material as long as it is received at least 72 hours before the abortion is scheduled.
o The woman can choose to view the material on the Texas Department of State Health services website instead of receiving printed material
o The woman must certify in writing, before the abortion, that the information was provided and she had at least 24 hours to review it.
• If the woman is a minor, a parent or guardian must be notified of the abortion, unless a judge waives notification.
To access the Texas Department of State Health Services website to find out more about your legal rights on your own, click here>>>